Your Workforce Development Experts

Upper Peninsula Michigan Works!

No other organization in the Upper Peninsula has a stronger network of talent and resources to connect skilled job seekers and employers.

Our Mission

Upper Peninsula Michigan Works! cultivates opportunities for developing a skilled workforce, helps businesses succeed, and collaborates with partners to build a strong economy.

Our Vision

Upper Peninsula Michigan Works! envisions a skilled workforce, successful businesses, and collaborative partners working together to build a strong economy.

Our Leadership

Debb Brunell

Chief Executive Officer

Michelle Viau

Chief Financial Officer

Beau Boden

Chief Technology Officer

Our Directors and Managers

Headshot of Holly P.

Holly Peoples

Business Services Director

Headshot of Hanna D.

Hanna Duckwall

Talent Services Director

Rick Sanville

Business Services Manager

Betsy E.

Betsy Erkkila

Administrative Services Manager

Kara Borghi

Talent Services Manager – Alger, Baraga, and Marquette Counties


Mandy Lindstrom

Talent Services Manager – Delta, Dickinson, Iron, and Menominee Counties

Amy Kraatz

Talent Services Manager – Chippewa, Luce, Mackinac, and Schoolcraft Counties

Judy A.

Judy Aho

Talent Services Manager – Houghton, Keweenaw, Gogebic, and Ontonagon Counties

Headshot of Darren Widder, WSM.

Darren Widder

Special Initiatives Manager

tom autio

Tom Autio

Communications and Training Manager

Sally Richard

Sally Richard

Quality Assurance Manager

Jen Rogers

Jen Rogers

Policy and Programs Manager

Our Board Members

Melanie Bicigo – Upper Peninsula Health Plan

Samantha Cameron – Bay Mills Community College

Travis Cary – I.U.P.A.T. District Council 7

Roy Del Valle – MLEO – Michigan Rehabilitation Services

Joe Esbrook – Hiawatha Log Homes

David Goudreau – Northern Wings Repair, Inc.

Tammy Henry – Luce County EDC

Dr. Nerita Hughes – Bay College

Ted Johnson – UP Pilots Association

George Kinsella – EcoMarine

Meredith Labeau – Calumet Electronics

Michelle LaJoie – Community Action (Alger/Marquette)

Mark Massicotte – L’Anse Manufacturing

Meagen Morrison – Eagle Mine

JR Richardson – Production & Capital Expansion
& Environment

Chad Rowe – Aspirus Health Services

Mike Smith – UP Construction Council

Julie Wonders – Iron Mountain-Kingsford Community Schools

Dean Seaberg – Alger

Gale Eilola – Baraga

Damon Lieurance – Chippewa

Steven Viau – Delta

Joe Stevens – Dickinson

Joe Bonovetz – Gogebic

Gretchen Janssen  – Houghton

Mark Stauber – Iron

Randy Eckloff – Keweenaw

Brandon Wheeler – Luce

Mike Patrick – Mackinac

Joseph DeRocha – Marquette

Larry Schei – Menominee

Carl R. Nykanen – Ontonagon

Craig Reiter – Schoolcraft